Friday evening, July 28, 2017, as a part of the Sugar Grove Corn Boil opening ceremony, Sean Michels, Village President and Jackie Link, Chamber President announced the awarding of the 2017 Sugar Grove Citizen of the Year to Al Markus. Al was nominated by colleagues, neighbors, and friends. They cheered from the lawn, as Al accepted the award, and joined Michels and Link, and those present in front of the main stage.

Previous winners include:

2016 Ruth Frantz

2015 Bob Bohler                                                2014 Wayne Parson

2013 Joe Didier                                                 2012 Helen Jorgensen

2011 Lil Adams                                                   2010 Beverly Holmes Hughes

2009 Jim Wilhelm                                         2008 Karen McCannon

2007 Joe Wolf                                              2006 Pat Graceffa

2005 Karen Pritchard                                    2004 Arnie and Byrel Liefheit

2003 David Seraphin                                     2002 Kevin Tindall

2001 Delmar and Ruth Krieghbaum                 2000 Stan Anderson

1999 Chris Dayvolt                                        1998 Terry Siebert

Al is well known, respected and appreciated throughout the village for his commitment to volunteering and helping with local activities, especially the Sugar Grove Corn Boil, NFP and Sugar Grove Christmas Tree lighting committees.

Comments regarding Al’s nomination include; “For years, Al was head of facilities at the Sugar Grove Corn Boil which included installing signs, set up and tear down, ordering materials, tents, fencing, generators, and setting up the stage area”, “Al helps with putting up and taking down over 2,000 lights on the Sugar Gove Christmas tree”, “If someone says it can’t be done; it won’t work; or can’t be built – I know it can be taken care of properly if Al is there. He has been a hands-on-kind of guy for as long as I have known him”, “He is a man of few words and lots of action” and “the Sugar Grove Corn Boil Donna Markus Scholarships, in memory of his late wife, are presented at the annual Corn Boil opening ceremony.

Al, and his wife Donna (deceased in 2012), moved to Sugar Grove over 16 years ago and were both involved in the Sugar Grove Corn Boil. Al continues to play a big part in the community. He is a loving father to three children, Allen, Jimmy and Melissa and loving grandfather.

Clearly, Sugar Grove is blessed to have such a selfless individual in the community.

Established in 1998 by the Village of Sugar Grove and the Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce & Industry as an annual recognition program, “Citizen of the Year” is intended to recognize, from among the nominations, the selected individual or group, which this year best exemplifies that pioneering spirit which helps our village grow and prosper. The Village of Sugar Grove and the Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce & Industry appreciate the involvement of the many people and local businesses that help recognize the Citizen of the Year recipient.

Local supporters and contributors to the Citizen of the Year include:

First National Bank, Old Second Bank, Sugar Grove Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Sugar Grove United Methodist Church, the Ritchey Family, and Village of Sugar Grove.